A recipient of Sahitya Akademy Award, Uday Prakash ji is an eminent Hindi poet, scholar, journalist, translator and short story writer from India. He has also worked as an administrator, editor, researcher, TV director and a regular columnist in dailies and periodicals. Born in the remote village of Sitapur (Madhya Pradesh, India), he graduated in science and obtained his master's degree in Hindi Literature, receiving a Gold Medal from Saugar University in 1974. He has also received several awards for his collection of short stories, Mohan Das.


He is perhaps best known for Peelee Chhatri Wali Ladki (2001). His stories are often called a "novella", and his work ‘Mohan Das’ has been translated into English and seven Indian languages, and adapted by the author for the "Mohandas" screenplay (2009). He is read in all Indian languages, and has translated works of many International poets and writers into Hindi, including Pablo Neruda, Federico García Lorca, H. Luis Borges, Paul Éluard, C.P. Cavafy, Adam Jędrzejewski, and Tadeusz Różewicz. Prakash Ji has also produced several films about important Hindi writers such as Ram Vilas Sharma. In 1978, Prakash ji taught as an assistant professor at JNU, and also at its ‘Imphal Center for Post Graduate Studies’. In 1980 he left academia, to become officer-on-special-duty with the ‘Madhya Pradesh Department of Culture’. At the same time, he was the controlling officer of the ‘Bhopal Rabindra Bhawan’, and assistant editor of ‘Poorvagraha’, a journal of Hindi literary criticism. From 1982–90, Prakash ji worked in New Delhi newspapers; first as a sub-editor of the Hindi news weekly ‘Dinmaan’, and later as Assistant Editor of the ‘Sunday Mail’. In 1987, he taught as an assistant professor at the ‘School of Social Journalism’ (on deputation). In 1990 he joined ITV (Independent Television) and became head of the PTI TV Concept and Script Department. Thereafter, Uday Prakash was the editor of the monthly English language magazine "Eminence" (published in Bangalore) until April of 2000. His books have been translated into many languages and he functions as a guest faculty in many renowned universities all over the world. With that, he regularly participates in many international poetry festivals and seminars.

Achievements and Awards

Uday Prakash ji has received numerous awards for his diverse contribution to literature and arts. Some of the notable mentions are: 1980 Bharat Bhushan Agrawal Puraskar 1990 Shrikant Verma Memorial Award, for the short stories collections (Tirich) 1996 Muktibodh Samman, a National Award by Madhya Pradesh Sahitya Parishad (Aur Ant Mein Prathna). 1999 Sahityakaar Samman, by the Hindi Akademi 2003 Pahal Samman: A prestigious award for contemporary literary contribution. 2009 SAARC Literary Award 2013 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature, shortlist, The Walls of Delhi Dear Sir, welcome to the team ‘Ramagya Theatre Lab’. We are honored and thankful for your guidance and support. Your presence will enlighten us and help us to grow further.


Born in 1948 in Sirsa, Haryana, Shri Devendra Raj Ankur studied theatre at the National School of Drama in Delhi, where he obtained his Diploma in 1972 specializing in direction. In 1981, he took his Master’s degree in Hindi from the University of Delhi. After a stint in NSD’s Repertory Company, Shri Ankur joined the School’s faculty in 1979, and has since served NSD in various capacities in Delhi and its Resource Centre in Bangalore. He was appointed Director of NSD in 2001.

He is pioneer of " Kahani Ka Rangmanch" form (genre) in theatre. - Since his initial experiments in 1975, Shri Ankur has produced numerous stories, novels, and plays in this manner, drawn from literature in Hindi, Urdu, Punjabi, Bengali, and other languages. - His important productions include Mahabhoj, Anaro, Khanaba- dosh, Rustam-Sohrab, Yahudi ki Ladki, Abhigyana Shakuntalam, Mrichhakatika, Ai Ladki, and Uska Bachpan. - His publications include two collections of his articles in Hindi — Pehla Rang (1999) and Rang Collage (2000) — and the volume Darshan Pradarshan (2002). The Sahitya Kala Parishad, Delhi, has conferred its Parishad Samman on Shri Ankur in 2000- 2001. - His book Pehla Rang received an award from the Hindi Akademi in 2001. - Shri Devendra Raj Ankur received the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for his contribution to theatre as a director.